Posted by: outsiderart1 | November 1, 2015

HEY at Halle Saint Pierre, Paris

The poster outside

The poster outside

On Monday 26 October, after a few days working at the Outsider Art Fair in Paris (which you can read about here – written by my colleague Kate), we went along to la Halle Saint Pierre to catch its current exhibition. I had been told many good reviews about this exhibition, so I was looking forward to it. ‘HEY’ incorporated modern art and pop culture by both trained and untrained artists. In all, I think there were some extremely strong and fascinating pieces, with some pieces that were not really my thing thrown in as well. I have written about artists that I particularly liked – you are not allowed to take photos so I have tried to source some on the internet where possible!
This exhibition is on until 13 March 2016, and do be sure to visit the bookshop when there too as it is fantastic!
The work of Hirotoshi Ito made me giggle. He was born in Japan in 1958 and his playful work shows large stones that he has collected, with zips for mouths and false teeth inside them. Each stone had a completely unique character, with some comical and some quite creepy.
Hirotoshi Ito art work

Hirotoshi Ito art work

After seeing Marie Rose Lortet’s beautiful lace sculptural houses at the Art Fair, I was grateful to see the lace skulls of Herve Bohnert in this exhibition. They completely held their own much like Lortet’s, with each one unique and pinned to the wall in a very simple way.
Tom McKee was born in the USA in 1957. He had a series of black ink drawings on display showing the Universe. It was said these were created following the rhythm of an ‘intuitive series of images.’ McKee said “I have always had trouble with images flipping and twisting in my head. I decided long ago not to fight it, but to use it as something that helps make my work unique.” These images were dark in subject matter, and very detailed in places.
The films of Mark Ryden very clearly stay in my mind, and I think they will do for a good while! They are quite creepy short films that entice you, well they certainly did that to me. The singing potato head with several eyes, singing ‘a bicycle made for two’ was a firm favourite of mine!
Ludovic Levasseur, who was born in France in 1969, created strange mummified creatures that were all displayed on the tops of poles – placed very close together. Levasseur said, “Yes it is easy to give in to the temptation of the gratuitously morbid…My pieces are never finished. I live with them – I can intervene again at any time.” The collection of these together made a real impact, and I was thinking in my mind that I would love to see something like this submitted to Outside In’s Radical Craft call-out.
Gilbert Peyre art work

Gilbert Peyre art work

The final two artists that grasped my attention both created moving artworks. Gilbert Peyre is a French self-taught visual artist and theatre director. On display are several weird sculptural pieces that move on the click of a button. To me. They seem to have a strange sexual feel to them, but they also left me a bit creeped out!
The second artist, Albert Salle, died at the age of 86. He created what he called animated miniatures or little theatres. These are wind up pieces that you are not allowed to touch yourself, but each one tells a little story. They are very beautiful pieces of art, even without the moving parts. What made me sad about this artist though, was the last line of he wall text … “He died deeply depressed that his small theatres that were on display, were being trashed everyday.” It still makes me sad to think how unhappy this had made him.
Leave a Reply

Categories

